County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Newton County reestablishes Recreation Commission

Post Date:03/23/2018 9:13 AM

NEWTON COUNTY, GA - The Newton County Board of Commissioners passed a resolution Tuesday evening to reestablish the Newton County Recreation Commission.

The Recreation Commission resolution, which was approved by a majority vote, added additional language to the original document which District 5 Commissioner Ronnie Cowan said would provide better direction for the Recreation Commission Board to follow.

“The intent is the same,” said Cowan, who along with Commissioners Lanier Sims, District 2 and Nancy Schulz, District 3 created the motion, said. “We have not gutted the Recreation Commission, we have not created a department, we have added to the language necessary to have proper procedures.”

The commission will be a nine-person board serving no more than two consecutive terms of five years. There will be eight voting members and a Chairman, who is appointed by the Chairman of the Newton County Board of Commissioners, who will vote in case of a tie. The commission members will be appointed by the Chairman of the Newton County Board of Commissioners (BOC) with one member of the BOC or a citizen appointed by the BOC to serve as a liaison and another liaison from the Covington City Council or a citizen chose by that council. Both of those members, if not selected as the Chairman, will have voting privileges.

The new Recreation Commission will be effective April 1.

The objective of the BOC is to provide great services for the citizens of Newton County. The Newton County Recreation Commission in turn creates athletics programming and other opportunities for both youth and adults. The BOC refined the bylaws for the recreation commission and has taken other actions recently to provide services for the citizens and taxpayers of Newton County.

Chairman Marcello Banes thanks all those who have served on the recreation commission, particularly Danny Stone for all his service to Newton County, including as Chairman of the Recreation Commission and work on the Industrial Development Authority and other county boards and organizations, along with the most recent commission members: Andre Cooper, Tim Flemming, J.C. Henderson, Scherree Howard, Josh McKelvey, Flemmie Pitts and Steve Rhodes.

Under the leadership of the restructured recreation commission there will be great opportunities for all residents of Newton County to enjoy soon to come. Please continue to check back with Newton County for schedules and announcements on all the recreation commission has to offer.




For more information about Newton County, please visit, like Newton County, Ga on Facebook or follow @NewtonCounty on Twitter.


Return to full list >>
View Full Site