Who We Are

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Untitled design

Newton in a nutshell

Newton County is a 279-square-mile area east of Atlanta on Interstate 20 in north central Georgia.

According to the United States Census Bureau, Newton County had an estimated 105,473 people in 2015.

The county seat is Covington, one of five municipalities located entirely within Newton County. The others are Porterdale, Mansfield, Newborn and Oxford. The city of Social Circle is located partially in Newton County and in neighboring Walton County.


Newton County, named after Sgt. John Newton of the American Revolutionary War, was created on Dec. 24, 1821. It has 13 places listed on the National Register of Historic Places:

  • Brick Store – Highway 278 Old Social Circle Road in Covington
  • Burge Club – Near Georgia 142, Cook Road, Morehouse Road and Sewell Road in Newborn
  • Covington Historic District – downtown Covington
  • Covington Mills and Mill Village Historic District – Wheat, Collins and Lott Streets in Covington
  • Floyd Street Historic District – Floyd Street form Elm Street to west of Sockwell Street in Covington
  • Newborn Historic District – Newborn
  • Newton County Historic Courthouse- on the Covington Square
  • North Covington Historic District – North Emory and Odum Streets in Covington
  • Orna Villa – 1008 Emory Street Oxford
  • Oxford Historic District – around Wesley Street in Oxford
  • Porterdale Historic District – Porterdale north of Elm Street
  • Salem Camp Ground – 3940 Salem Road, Covington
  • Starrsville Historic District – Junction of Georgia 213, Old Starsville and Dixie Roads

Other areas of interest within Newton County are the Georgia FFA/FCLA Club, Burt Adams Scout Camp.


Newton County has become known for filming as of late with production on several movies and television shows taking place here, including The Dukes of Hazzard, In the Heat of the Night, The Vampire Diaries. Remember the Titans, My Cousin Vinny and Selma.

Newton County is also home to manufacturing companies such as Nisshinbo, FiberVisions, Bridgestone, Michilen, General Mills and Shire Pharmaceuticals.

Its school system, Newton County School System, has 13 elementary schools, five middle schools, three high schools and a college and career academy. Located within Newton County is Oxford College of Emory University, Georgia State’s Newton Perimeter campus, a Troy global campus and Georgia Piedmont Technical College.



View Full Site