The Board of Commissioners is responsible for establishing county policies and for setting the county budget. The board adopts the county budget and authorizes expenditures. The board also approves or denies zonings throughout the county. The commission chairman is responsible for the daily operations of the county.
Six members constitute the Board of Commissioners. The county is divided into five commission districts. The district commissioners are elected by district and the chairman is elected countywide. They all serve staggered four-year terms.

The board holds official board meetings the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:00p.m. These meetings are held in the Historic Courthouse that is located at 1124 Clark Street, Covington, Georgia. All work sessions are called and posted as needed. Agendas of all meetings are made available through the county clerk's office.  

View Full Site