Board of Elections

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Newton County Board of Elections serves as the Superintendent of Elections for Newton County and is responsible for seeing that all voter registration and the conduct of elections comply with the laws set forth in the Georgia Election Code and the Rules and Regulations promulgated by the State Election Board.  

Board Members and Meetings

The Board of Elections has three members. Each member serves a four-year term and is appointed by the Newton County Board of Commissioners as follows:  a nonpartisan appointee who serves as Chairman, an appointee from the local Democratic Party and an appointee from the local Republican Party.

The current members are:

Hugh Steele

Term Expires 12/31/2018

Democratic Appointee
Kelly Robinson

Term Expires 12/31/2021

Republican Appointee
Dustin Thompson
Term Expires 12/31/2018

The Newton County Board of Elections meets the second Monday of each month at 4 p.m. in the Board of Elections Office located at 1113 Usher Street, Suite 103, Covington, GA.  The meetings are open to the public.
View Full Site