Board of Zoning Appeals

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Board of Zoning Appeals

The duties of the Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) include, but are not limited to, reviewing administrative appeals and variance requests. Variances are granted in cases of a unique hardship to the property owner if the ordinance provisions were to be strictly applied. 

      The Board of Zoning Appeals:

  • Is governed by Division 605 of the Newton County Zoning Ordinance
  •  Conducts public hearings for the purpose of soliciting public comments.
  •  Meets the 4th Thursday of the month once a petitions has been filed.
  • Agendas and case information are posted on the website.

Board of Zoning Appeals Members consists of 6 residents of Newton County and is appointed by the Board of Commissioners:

Chairman – Mr. Gil Davis

District 1 – Mr. Larry Corban

District 2 - Dr. Nick Hawthorn

District 3 – Mr. Brandon Ferguson

District 4 -  Mr. James Russell

District 5 – Mr. Don Floyd

Board of Zoning Appeals Secretary – Crystal Dooley

View Full Site