Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning Commission

The duties of the Planning Commission included, but are not limited to reviewing all requests for amendments to the Comprehensive Plan, Zoning Ordinance amendments (including map & text amendments), Conditional Uses, preliminary & final plats for proposed subdivisions, or any other matters related to planning & zoning.  The Planning Commission conducts public hearings for the purpose of soliciting public comments.

The Planning Commission meets the 4th Tuesday of the month when petitions have been filed to be heard for that month.  Agendas are posted on the website with specific case information that will be heard for that month. 

The Planning Commissioners consists of 6 residents of Newton County and are appointed by the Board of Commissioners:

Chairman -  Mr. Landis Stephens

District 1 -  Mr. Troy Bledsoe

District 2 – Ms. Veda White

District 3 -  Ms. Jackie Thomas

District 4 – Mrs. Vivian Richardson

District 5 – Mr. Jody Smith

Planning Commission Secretary – Crystal Dooley

View Full Site