Solid Waste Management Authority  

The Newton County landfill is operated by the Newton County Solid Waste Management Authority (SWMA). The SWMA consists of a seven-member board of directors which includes the Chairman of the Newton County Board of Commissioners, two Newton County Commissioners and four citizens selected by the board of commissioners. 

The SWMA has regularly scheduled meetings on the third Thursday of each month, starting at 5:30 p.m. The authority may also periodically schedule special called meetings. All meetings are open to the public. 

For more information on the SWMA, the authority's secretary, Laurie Riley, can be reached at 678-625-5090.

Trash Convenience and Recycling Centers

Newton County's six Convenience Centers are open Tuesday through Saturday 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For more on the centers, click here.

View Full Site